

Enforcement Notice from the Office of Cannabis Management

Dear Registered Hemp Derived Cannabinoid Business:

The Office of Cannabis Management (OCM), established in 2023, is charged with developing and implementing the operational and regulatory systems to oversee the cannabis industry in Minnesota as provided in Minnesota Statutes Chapter 342.

When Minnesota legalized the sale of adult-use of cannabis flower, cannabis products, and lower-potency hemp edibles/ hemp-derived consumer products, the Minnesota Legislature included statutory provisions, Minnesota Statutes, chapter 152.0264, making the sale of cannabis illegal until a business is licensed by OCM. The Office of Cannabis Management has not yet issued licenses for the cultivation, manufacture, wholesale, transportation or retail sale of cannabis, therefore any retail sales of cannabis products, including cannabis flower, are illegal.

The Office of Cannabis Management has received complaints of retailers selling cannabis flower under the label of hemp flower. Under an agreement between The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) and OCM, inspectors from MDH will begin to examine any flower products being sold during their regular inspections to determine whether they are indeed hemp flower or cannabis flower.

In distinguishing between hemp and cannabis flower, OCM, consistent with federal rules and regulations related to hemp under 7 CFR 990.1, will consider the total concentration of THC post- decarboxylation, which is the process by which THC-A is converted into Delta-9 to produce an intoxicating effect. The examination of raw flower products will include reviewing the certificate of analysis for compliance in several areas, including:

Compliance with the requirement that raw flower listed for sale includes a Certificate of Analysis (COA). Products for sale without a COA will constitute an illegal sale.

A COA that affirms concentrations of 0.3% or less of Delta-9 on a dry weight basis. Products exceeding 0.3% Delta-9 dry weight are considered marijuana and are therefore illegal to sell.

A COA that confirms that the total levels of Delta-9 and THC-A after the decarboxylation process do not exceed 0.3%. A COA that indicates the raw flower will exceed 0.3 percent Delta-9 post-decarboxylation, or a subsequent test conducted by an independent laboratory utilized by OCM that confirms Delta-9 in excess of 0.3 percent will be considered illegal.

<u>Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 342</u> governs Minnesota's cannabis market, and empowers OCM to ensure regulatory compliance. <u>Minnesota Statutes, chapter 342.09, subdivision 4</u> prohibits the retail sale of cannabis flower and cannabis products "without a license issued under this chapter that authorizes the sale."

Enforcement Notice 1

To date, the Office of Cannabis Management has not issued any cannabis licenses, applications for licenses are expected to be available in the first half of 2025. As such, selling cannabis is a clear violation of law. Be aware that under Minnesota Statutes, 342.09, subdivision 6, OCM may assess fines in excess of a \$1 million for violations of this law. Likewise, under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 342.19, OCM is empowered to embargo any product that it has "probable cause to believe . . . is being distributed in violation of this chapter or rules adopted under this chapter[.]" Furthermore, violations of law may be considered in future licensing decisions made by OCM.

As inspectors enter the field, we encourage you to review the products you are currently selling to ensure they fall within the thresholds outlined above. If you have any questions related to the products you are selling, please send an email to cannabis.info@state.mn.us.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Thalleke bring

Charlene Briner Interim Director

Office of Cannabis Management

Enforcement Notice 2